Food

Flackers!

Let’s face it guacamole and salsa are so delicious! I’m absolutely addicted to both of them. I love to make fresh salsa and put it on……EVERYTHING!

The only thing that’s bad about both of these are the chips you dip them with. So when I found out you could make crackers out of flax seeds…I was stoked.  Plus since they are made with flax seeds that are SO nutritional for you. Flax seeds contain Omega 3 fatty acids, minerals (manganese, potassium, calcium, iron, magnesium, zinc and selenium), and vitamins (riboflavin, niacin, thiamin, pantothenic acid, vitamin B-6, and folates). Beware that it does contain a lot of fat, although it is monounsaturated (the good for you kind), it is important to eat this in moderation especially if you’re trying to lose weight. My boyfriend was the one that came up with the name Flackers. 🙂

I added some garlic powder, cayenne pepper and oregano. I didn’t really measure it, I just added however much I thought looked good. However, this wasn’t the best plan. My Flackers taste great, but I’ll definitely add more of each next time. Especially the garlic powder. Can you ever really have too much garlic powder? I mean, come on.

Mix it all together and drop it onto the dehydrator sheets like so.

You will only need two dehydrator sheets, so you can just do half of the batch on each tray. Spread the flax seed concoction out as thin as possible. You want those Flackers crunchy and crispy!

Dehydrate at 115 for 1 1/2 hours. Then cut crackers as shown. You can do bigger pieces if you like, but I like them small like chips. Then pop them back in the dehydrator for 6 more hours at 115.

Just pop them off the tray and into a Ziploc bag. These will keep for about a month! Enjoy with some delicious guacamole, salsa, or whatever dip you choose!


Leave a Reply

