Photography

Boats, Trains and Automobiles

This post is photo heavy (just the way I like ’em)! 

Since we just moved to Seattle less then 6 months ago, I decided to get my boyfriend and I a Seattle City Pass for his birthday. We had a blast! We got to check out so many things, plus a ton more as we were walking around! I wanted to share some of the photos I caught from day 1. Day 2 is all photos from the Seattle Aquarium and to be honest, I probably wouldn’t go back there. Once you’ve gone to the Newport Aquarium, not much else can compete.

Some photos are from my Canon Rebel XTi and a few are from my iphone 5s.

First up: Monorail

This was a quick way to get around and saved us some walking. Trust me, by the end of the day we’d walked plenty enough to burn off those calories from the delicious Clam Chowder we had for lunch.

IMG_0162

Second:

Space Needle

Space Needle

Up close: Gotta love that rust!

Needle-Up-Close

View from the needle:

View-from-the-Needle

My boyfriend and me being weird:

IMG_0149

After riding back on the Monorail, we walked 4 or 5 blocks to Pike Place Market:

IMG_0169

And then we checked out the Seattle chalk wall because it’s our favorite. I don’t know how often they change it, but every time we stop by it’s different:

IMG_0173

Third,we stopped by and picked up our tickets to Argosy Harbor Tour:

IMG_0174

Here are four other passengers on the tour. They were all best friends from Norway. They were so entertaining! They moved those chairs without asking so they could have a better view, all the while drinking their beer and laughing! Oh those hipsters from Norway….. I loved it!

Norwegians

Apparently Seattle’s largest export is grain. Thought it would be coffee didn’t you? No we drink it all. Apparently Seattle gets it from the Midwest and then exports it all. That’s what ships like these do. According to our guide, if this was full of grain you wouldn’t be able to see the red on this ship. Crazy huh?

Grain-shipment

Came across these two bad boys kissing:

Sea-Lion-Love

View of the city from the tour boat:

Seattle-by-Boat

We went up pretty close to these shipping containers, they were some of my favorites:

Cargo-Containers

After our tour we were starving! We finished the afternoon of with a big bowl of clam chowder from Fisherman’s (our favorite place):

IMG_0188

Did you like our Day 1 tour of Seattle? Any places you would suggest we check out as new Seattleites??

This was part of a weekly challenge on street life.

25 thoughts on “Boats, Trains and Automobiles

  1. I’ve never been to Seattle, so I can’t recommend any places. It’s typical Norwegians to drink while they’re travelling. Alcohol is sooo expensive here, so Norwegians drink a lot when they’re abroad. Probably that’s why the vikings were so crazy 😀 (kidding of course, they had no tax on alcoholic beverages back then – the vikings were free men).

    Like

    1. Right? I love photo heavy posts!! I’m glad you liked the photo of us. I totally agree, it’s nice to see the actual blogger. I put my photo in my about section but I don’t really anywhere else. I may have to change that. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment