Fact or Whacked?

Fact or Whacked: Baking Soda Oven Cleaner

There’s always so many amazing ideas you come across on Pinterest. I’m obsessed with checking it every day. Some ideas I see really jump out at me, and I have to try them. Some work out amazing and others…..not so much. This brings me to my Fact or Whacked segment: where I am essentially the guinea pig, and you can sit back and relax while I do the initial leg work. I want to let every one know that this segment is NOT MEANT TO OFFEND ANYONE. It takes a lot of hard work and bravery to share your ideas on a blog, and this is not meant to take that away from anyone. I’m merely offering my experiences with each idea, and you are more than welcome to try them for yourself.

Welcome! It’s been awhile since I did a post, let alone a Fact or Whacked! I’ve been in complete cleaning mode as I’ve started to feel the summer season ending and fall approaching. I love that Boise experiences all four seasons!

As you can see, my poor oven hasn’t been cleaned for years awhile. Since it was so filthy, I just couldn’t summon up the courage to even attempt a deep clean. So of course I did a Pinterest search and came across this article and many more like it. Many of the articles were concerned about health issues of certain cleaning supplies and wanted to keep it as natural as possible. Honestly, my biggest concern was my laziness. I was looking for what’s easiest.

I told my grandma about my experiment and she laughed. “There’s no way that will just wipe off clean with a rag.”

We’ll see Nana….

Sorry I didn’t get a straight photo of my dirty oven for comparison, but I’m pretty sure you can see enough to imagine. The photo below is after I spread on the baking soda and water paste. Following the directions, I let it sit overnight for 12 hours and when I woke up….

IMG_0495

(A close up of the dirtiness)

IMG_0496

…it should have turned brown and “worked it’s magic.” It looks brownish to me, kind of like a properly cooked Creme Brûlée.

IMG_0502

Next as per the instructions, I should “take a wet rag and wipe out as much of the baking soda as possible. Put some vinegar in the spray bottle and spritz it on the surfaces where you still see residues of baking soda. Wipe with a wet rag.”

To be honest, that is laughable. First off, there’s no way a wet rag would be able to appropriately tackle this. So I switched to a sponge that had bristles on one side. After lots of scrubbing and adding more vinegar (I used Bragg with the mother in case you were wondering) I was able to get it down to this. I then attacked it with a pan scraper that worked really well. At this point I’m thinking my Nana was right….don’t tell her! 🙂

IMG_0503

I added some hydrogen peroxide (which was not included in the directions) to see if that could cut through any of the extra crap and it did seem to help. Plus it was just fun to watch it sizzle and react. However, this is the final version of my oven using just these cleaners. As you can see it did not get completely clean, but it is a vast improvement. If you are concerned about using all natural cleaners, I think this is a definite must. However, I was looking for fast…and this was anything but; even after waiting the 12 hours. It took over an hour to get the final result, including the oven door that I’ll address next.

IMG_0505

For the oven door, I only needed to leave the paste on for 30 minutes and then I could use a wet rag to wipe clean.

IMG_0497

This shows a great before and after. However I did need to use vinegar, hydrogen peroxide, and a bristle brush to scrub not “wipe.” As you can see there’s still quite a bit leftover greasy scum.

IMG_0499IMG_0506

Final result:

Whacked

As I said, I was going for ease and efficiency and this did not deliver. However, if your priority is using an all natural cleaner it did the job. It would’ve probably been a lot easier if my oven wasn’t so dirty!

After putting my oven racks back in, I realized how dirty they were as well! Next I want to try this or this method for cleaning oven racks with dryer sheets.

Have you tried using the baking soda and vinegar method? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Fact or Whacked: Baking Soda Oven Cleaner

    1. LOL! I tell you, there was a lot of scrubbing! Honestly the waiting just made me put it off more. So many times I would wake up in the morning and think, dang I forgot to put that baking soda mix in the oven! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

