Fact or Whacked? · Food

Mini German Pancakes

There’s always so many amazing ideas you come across on Pinterest. I’m obsessed with checking it every day. Some ideas I see really jump out at me, and I have to try them. Some work out amazing and others…..not so much. This brings me to my Fact or Whacked segment: where I am essentially the guinea pig, and you can sit back and relax while I do the initial leg work. I want to let every one know that this segment is NOT MEANT TO OFFEND ANYONE. It takes a lot of hard work and bravery to share your ideas on a blog, and this is not meant to take that away from anyone. I’m merely offering my experiences with each idea, and you are more than welcome to try them for yourself. 

I came across a beautiful looking pin on Pinterest from Real Mom Kitchen for Mini German Pancakes. They looked so delicious and the photo was beautiful! The directions looked very simple and easy, but the comments below were a mix of good and bad. I wasn’t sure if I should give them a try or not. Luckily I did!

I read through a lot of the comments below to look for some good tips. The one that seemed really helpful was from Kim on February 13, 2013. She talked about letting the mixture sit for 20 minutes (which I did), and adding sparkling water (which I didn’t try this time). Some suggested letting the muffin tin heat up with the oven, but I kept mine at room temp. One mistake I made was with the butter! I didn’t realize it was supposed to be melted and instead, just cut it into the mixture. Oops! It tasted fine though, you can see bits of the butter in the pic below.

Here’s what they looked like right before I took them out of the oven:

IMG_0130

Here’s what they looked like a few minutes out of the oven:

IMG_0134

They were a little difficult to get out of the muffin tin, even after using Pam! However, they still looked nice.

I made two filling mixtures: chopped green apples with cinnamon warmed up (not pictured), and a strawberry/blueberry mixture that I just mashed up. No need to add anything else, nature made it sweet enough! My BF, AKA the taste tester, really liked the apple and cinnamon mixture, but I thought it was pretty dry and preferred the berry mix.

IMG_0126

All in all, I’d say it was a make again! It reminded me a lot of crepes, but thicker! Yum!

Fact

IMG_0143

 

One thought on “Mini German Pancakes

Leave a Reply

