Fact or Whacked?

Fact or Whacked? Burlap Lamp Shade

There’s always so many amazing ideas you come across on Pinterest. I’m obsessed with checking it every day. Some ideas I see really jump out at me, and I have to try them. Some work out amazing and others…..not so much. This brings me to my Fact or Whacked segment: where I am essentially the guinea pig, and you can sit back and relax while I do the initial leg work. I want to let every one know that this segment is NOT MEANT TO OFFEND ANYONE. It takes a lot of hard work and bravery to share your ideas on a blog, and this is not meant to take that away from anyone. I’m merely offering my experiences with each idea, and you are more than welcome to try them for yourself. Have an idea you’ve been wondering about on Pinterest? Let me know and I’ll put it to the test!

What do you do when you come across this, on a thrift store trip with your mom and grandma for 5.99? Atrocious lamp shade, but a killer looking base? Well first you ask the lady at the counter if you could please plug it in to make sure it works! Once that’s settled, you admire the base once more before BUYING it!

By the way those are tiny little roses around the edges if you can’t tell……yuck!
IMG_0042

Let’s look at a close up of that baby!! Ahhhh…..beautiful!

IMG_0043

Then you do what anyone would do- PINTEREST! I came across this Anthropologie inspired Burlap Ruffle Lampshade at Tatertotsandjello.

Check it out for a full tutorial! It’s fairly easy, but time consuming. I watched “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” and “Eat, Pray, Love,” and then I was done! I’ll let you know right now: fingers get burned! I don’t care how careful you are, hot glue goes right through that burlap and as hard as you try, it’ll getcha!!

This step was pretty easy, because you don’t really see it. The tutorial does it in one piece, but I couldn’t manage to make it work. So mine has two pieces and a thin layer of hot glue. I just made sure some ruffles covered it up!

IMG_1210

And for the Grande Finale……dun dun nah nah….. beautification!!! 

IMG_0395

Let’s get another close up of that base…..just so we can say we did…..

IMG_0398

Voila! This sure helps bring some charm to my little sofa table! (So does my Scentsy warmer with a yummy seasonal scent, but that’s another tale) I love how the light is dimmed a little by the burlap. It’s great for reading at night!

When all is said and done, this cost less than $10 to make! ($5.99 for the lamp, the burlap is $1.99 a yard, and I already had some glue sticks)

Final Verdict??

Fact

Love this lampshade! It definitely gets a lot of notice from guests!

IMG_0399

Next time on FACT OR WHACKED- What to do when you’re short on dough, but big on ideas for window coverings on your sliding glass doors.

Look at that design, love it!

IMG_0401

 

Leave a Reply

